Book Review: Wild at Heart by K.A. Tucker

Book Birthday

5_DiscoBalls

5 disco balls

Published: February 18, 2020 by K. A. Tucker
Category: Contemporary Romance
sequel to The Simple Wild

This sequel did not disappoint! Excuse me while I continue to fan myself. My nerves: good lord and Jonah …did I say Jonah?!

Sorry Joshua Templeman from The Hating Game, it’s not you its me. That was me breaking up with my book boyfriend. He’s been replaced by the Yeti!Read More »

Blog Tour: Mine to Five by Tara September

Author: Tara September
Narrator: Verla Bond
Length: 4 hours and 15 minutes
Publisher: Plus it Up
Released: Dec. 11, 2019
Genre: Contemporary Romance

2018 Contemporary Romance Writers’ Stiletto Finalist
2018 Tampa Area Romance Writers’ TARA Finalist
2018 Maine Romance Writers’ Strut Your Stuff Finalist – Second Place Contemporary Winner
2017 Cleveland Rocks Romance Contest – Second Place Winner

’Tis the season for an office romance!

Working beyond nine to five and barely getting by, Melanie Thomas is eager to celebrate the impending holiday season and to toast the start of her dream marketing job over drinks with her boyfriend. Unfortunately, he has different plans – like seeing other women.

Indulging in a pity party with tequila, Melanie confides in a sexy stranger at the bar. It’s almost Christmas. One night of letting go won’t hurt anything, right? Turns out, it just might, when the stranger is her new boss. Determined to succeed at her job, Melanie won’t be scared away. This is her chance, even if her hot boss has her feeling all merry and bright and wishing for a less-than-professional relationship.

Matthew Ryans is burned out and on thin ice at the company he helped build, unless he gets his head back in the game. Yet, his head, both upper and lower, are quickly becoming obsessed with his new assistant. Still, he can’t seem to fully begrudge Melanie’s distracting presence and the Christmas joy she brings with it. Especially considering that her enthusiasm has him re-energized.

For once, he is longing for Mondays, but with his heart and job on the line, he can’t risk blurring the lines no matter how strong the lure of holiday mistletoe is.

Will their holiday passion be able to fuel mutual career success, or will it only get in their way in the New Year?

Read More »

Book Reviews: Unpopular Opinions

There is no one book for everyone, and that is okay. 

If there is a lot of hype around a book it can go either way: it can exceed the already high expectations you have set for it, or it can disappoint you. Not sure if it would have disappointed you if it wasn’t hyped up – or maybe it would have – but either way, how you respond and feel during and after reading a book is your own.

Below are three books that didn’t give me the 5 star feels it gave other readers; that is not to say they weren’t good, I just had a different reaction to either a small plot point or the whole book. If you read them, I hope you loved them, and if you decide to read them, I hope you love them! Read More »

Audiobook Review: The Bromance Book Club by Lyssa Kay Adams

5_DiscoBalls

5 disco balls

Published: November 5, 2019 by Berkley
Length: 9 hours and 9 minutes, narrated by Andrew Eiden & Maxwell Caulfield
Category: Contemporary Romance


Recognize this man?

It’s Empire Records own Rex Manning; IRL he’s Maxwell Caulfield…one of the narrators of this audiobook!

The Bromance Book Club deserves all the fun, laugh out loud stars. A unique take on romance; where a group of men formed a book club and read romance to learn a thing or two about their women. It’s genius!Read More »

Book Review: Get a Life, Chloe Brown by Talia Hibbert

“You don’t always have to be okay.”
I know. But I am okay, with you.

5_DiscoBalls

5 disco balls

Published: November 5, 2019 by Avon
Length: 10 hours and 17 minutes narrated by Adjoa Andoh
Category: Contemporary Romance

A delicious story that I devoured in just a few sittings.

Get a Life, Chloe Brown is full of spunky personality: witty sarcastic banter freely flowing.

I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED Chloe and Red. Did I say LOVE?! 😉

Author Talia Hibbert is a brilliant writer; her characters were relatable and adoringly lovable. She tackled sensitive issues with finesse and I learned so much through both Chloe and Red.Read More »

Holiday Reads of 2019: 3 Book Reviews in 1

I told you I would be a one stop shop for holiday reads this December! I tried to read all the books in my Bookstagram tree, but after a few too many less than jolly reads I switched gears. I feel like Scrooge!

I’m terrible. It’s not that I didn’t enjoy them enough to DNF, its just that my reading was slow moving and I didn’t have that need to turn the next page feeling to whip through them. Darn it, I just realized I may be in a bit of a reading slump so don’t take my reviews to much to heart.

First up (the best of the bunch):

The Christmas Keeper (Happily Ever After #2) by Jenn McKinlayRead More »

Audiobook Review: The Christmas Pact by Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward

4 jingle bells

4 jingle bells

Published: December 5, 2019 by Audible Original
Narrated by Andi Arndt and Sebastian York
Length: 2 hours and 54 minutes
Category: Contemporary, Romance, Holiday
available through Audible: its free if you are an audible member

Outlandishly fun holiday novella!

My first two holiday reads didn’t bring the jolly spirit so this novella came at the perfect time to get my holly jolly Christmas vibes going! In just three hours the main characters turn up the chemistry. For fans of The Hating Game by Sally Thorne and Roomies by Christina Lauren.Read More »

Book Review: 25 Days ‘Til Christmas by Poppy Alexander

capture-1-e1544920770459.jpg

3 jingle bells

Published: October 8, 2019 by William Morrow Books
Category: Contemporary, Holiday

25 Day ‘Til Christmas was my first holiday read of the season! This month being dedicated to as many holiday reads as I can power through before year end. Consider Saturday Nite Reader your one stop shop for holiday reads this year 😉

What does my holiday TBR look like you ask:

View this post on Instagram

#partner thank you to the tagged publishers for gifting me my 2019 holiday reads! Who wouldn’t want books, @tonymoly.us_official beauty products, and cowboys under their tree? . A special thank you to @avonbooks & @williammorrowbooks for sending me: 🎄We Met in December by @rosiecurtisauthor 🎄25 Days ‘Till Christmas by Poppy Alexander (which I’ll be reading first!) 🎄Wrapped Up In You by @jillshalvis 🎄 The Christmas Dare by @loriwilde02 along with a K-beauty mask and hand cream set from TONYMOLY. . The kind folks at @berkleyromance sent me: ⛄️ A Cowboy Under the Mistletoe by @jessicaclarebooks ⛄️ The Christmas Keeper by @mckinlayjenn ⛄️ A Mackenzie Clan Christmas by Jennifer Ashley . The lovely folks at @readforeverpub sent me: 🎅 The Corner of Holly and Ivy by @authordebmason 🎅 Christmas on Mistletoe Lane by @annierainsbooks . ❤️💚 @randomhouse & @biblioreviews always having my back! Thank you RH for Let it Snow by @nancythayerbooks (one of the first holiday books I got!) and Theresa for sending me A Coldwater Christmas by @deloresfossen (she knew a cowboy on a book cover was on my Santa list!) 💚❤️ . ❓What are you reading to celebrate the holiday season?! Do tell! See any you are reading too? . . #saturdaynitereader #itsdecember #holidayseason #holidaybookstack #christmasreadinglist #holidayTBR #TBR #toberead #readersofinstagram #readersofinsta #bookstagram #booksofinstagram #bookstagrammer #bookblogger #bookreviewer #bibliophile #bookworm #jinglebooks #bookphotography #booklover #bookish #readforever #genxbookstagrammers #booksparks #ruggable

A post shared by Saturday Nite Reader (@saturday_nite_reader) on

Okay, now back to the book review you have all been anxiously awaiting…

For fans of A Christmas Carol and It’s a Wonderful Life. I whipped through this book in a day. It is not a cheery, sugar cookie read. It’s more in line with It’s a Wonderful Life, where you watch and hope for goodness to come back to Kate, and come fast. Read More »