Audiobook Review: The Christmas Pact by Vi Keeland & Penelope Ward

4 jingle bells

4 jingle bells

Published: December 5, 2019 by Audible Original
Narrated by Andi Arndt and Sebastian York
Length: 2 hours and 54 minutes
Category: Contemporary, Romance, Holiday
available through Audible: its free if you are an audible member

Outlandishly fun holiday novella!

My first two holiday reads didn’t bring the jolly spirit so this novella came at the perfect time to get my holly jolly Christmas vibes going! In just three hours the main characters turn up the chemistry. For fans of The Hating Game by Sally Thorne and Roomies by Christina Lauren.Read More »

Book Review: 25 Days ‘Til Christmas by Poppy Alexander

capture-1-e1544920770459.jpg

3 jingle bells

Published: October 8, 2019 by William Morrow Books
Category: Contemporary, Holiday

25 Day ‘Til Christmas was my first holiday read of the season! This month being dedicated to as many holiday reads as I can power through before year end. Consider Saturday Nite Reader your one stop shop for holiday reads this year 😉

What does my holiday TBR look like you ask:

View this post on Instagram

#partner thank you to the tagged publishers for gifting me my 2019 holiday reads! Who wouldn’t want books, @tonymoly.us_official beauty products, and cowboys under their tree? . A special thank you to @avonbooks & @williammorrowbooks for sending me: 🎄We Met in December by @rosiecurtisauthor 🎄25 Days ‘Till Christmas by Poppy Alexander (which I’ll be reading first!) 🎄Wrapped Up In You by @jillshalvis 🎄 The Christmas Dare by @loriwilde02 along with a K-beauty mask and hand cream set from TONYMOLY. . The kind folks at @berkleyromance sent me: ⛄️ A Cowboy Under the Mistletoe by @jessicaclarebooks ⛄️ The Christmas Keeper by @mckinlayjenn ⛄️ A Mackenzie Clan Christmas by Jennifer Ashley . The lovely folks at @readforeverpub sent me: 🎅 The Corner of Holly and Ivy by @authordebmason 🎅 Christmas on Mistletoe Lane by @annierainsbooks . ❤️💚 @randomhouse & @biblioreviews always having my back! Thank you RH for Let it Snow by @nancythayerbooks (one of the first holiday books I got!) and Theresa for sending me A Coldwater Christmas by @deloresfossen (she knew a cowboy on a book cover was on my Santa list!) 💚❤️ . ❓What are you reading to celebrate the holiday season?! Do tell! See any you are reading too? . . #saturdaynitereader #itsdecember #holidayseason #holidaybookstack #christmasreadinglist #holidayTBR #TBR #toberead #readersofinstagram #readersofinsta #bookstagram #booksofinstagram #bookstagrammer #bookblogger #bookreviewer #bibliophile #bookworm #jinglebooks #bookphotography #booklover #bookish #readforever #genxbookstagrammers #booksparks #ruggable

A post shared by Saturday Nite Reader (@saturday_nite_reader) on

Okay, now back to the book review you have all been anxiously awaiting…

For fans of A Christmas Carol and It’s a Wonderful Life. I whipped through this book in a day. It is not a cheery, sugar cookie read. It’s more in line with It’s a Wonderful Life, where you watch and hope for goodness to come back to Kate, and come fast. Read More »

Audiobook Review: Love and Other Words by Christina Lauren

“Why can’t everyone be like you?”
I can be enough of your world that it feels like everyone is.

5_DiscoBalls

5 disco balls

Publish date: April 10, 2017 by Gallery Books
Length: 8 hours and 22 minutes, narrated by Erin Mallon
Category: Contemporary Romance, Women’s Fiction

When I discovered Christina Lauren books this summer I devoured The Unhoneymooners, Josh & Hazel’s Guide to Dating, and Roomies. I needed more of them and chose Love and Other Words next.

I will admit I was super hesitant to start it because I try to avoid love triangles and the like. It breaks my heart when someone has to pick between two people and the person left behind makes me cry (unless that person is a total tool). But, I took the plunge and gave this a go. Elliot was swoon worthy a few chapters in: this author duo knows how to write a charming character!Read More »

Audiobook Review: The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker

5_DiscoBalls

5 disco balls

Publish date: August 7, 2018 by Atria Books
Length: 12 hours and 34 minutes, narrated by Rebekkah Ross, Simon & Schuster Audio
Category: Contemporary Romance, Women’s Fiction

I LOVED this book! I think I may trade in my cowboys for Alaskan Yeti’s, or maybe this one particular yeti who happens to be referred to as a sky cowboy…so essentially its the same and my love of cowboys remains intact. HA!Read More »

Book Review: Dear Girls by Ali Wong

img_0685

3.5 disco balls

Published: October 15, 2019 by Random House
Category: Non-fiction, Memoir, Humor

I returned to work last week- after a 3 month maternity leave – and this was the perfect book to escape in during my morning commute on the NJ Path train…which I did not miss!

On day 1 back to the grind I was pushed through the Path doors by 3 people and elbowed twice…there is obviously no such thing as personal space: it’s a push or be pushed world so a little humor is needed to keep one sane. Plus I was holding back all the tears, one wrong move…cue the waterworks.Read More »

Audiobook Review: Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren

5_DiscoBalls

5 disco balls

Publish date: October 22, 2019 by Gallery Books
Length: 9 hours and 30 minutes, narrated by Erin Mallon
Category: Contemporary Romance, Chick-lit

This was my first audiobook with Libro.fm and I am super thankful I was able to listen to it as part of their Influencer ALC program (Audiobook Listening Copies). I ate it up and finished in less than 3 days: which is no surprise as Christina Lauren romances are my jam.

This love story reminds me of when I was a tween playing with my Barbie & Ken dolls. After watching General Hospital with my mom (what is Sonny taking to look the same 20 yrs later) I would think up the most outlandish storylines of how Ken had to win over Barbie. Twice in a Blue Moon was reminiscent of those times: a bit over the top like the Pretty Woman love story but you still watch it, love it, and root for them every time.Read More »

I’m Back!

I can’t believe its been just over 3 months since I last posted a review. Saturday Nite Reader Junior and I have had a lot of couch time that included more TV than reading – oops – BUT, I did manage to finish 1 physical book and 12 audiobooks. Audiobooks were my jam…and yes, I count them as books “read.”

Here is a peak as to what reviews I will be posting soon:Read More »

On Maternity Leave

On Tuesday, July 16th – after 8 years of “patiently” waiting – my husband and I welcomed Saturday Nite Reader Junior to our family! I’ve been slacking on reading during the last month and it was worth it. 😉

I am going to enjoy the time I have at home before I go back to work and will check in with you all here and there. Hope you have a great summer filled of 5 star 💎s!!!

XO, Nikki

Shoutout to @hookedbytsl who made SNR Jr. her bookish inspired onesies. I can’t wait for the fashion photo ops 😘

Book Review: Evvie Drake Starts Over by Linda Holmes

4_DiscoBalls

4 disco balls

Published: June 25, 2019 by Ballantine Books
Category: Women’s Fiction, Chick-lit

Need a summer read with a little bit more oomph? I’m talking secrets, some family drama, and learning to find oneself. Then this book is might be your perfect oceanside, poolside, lakeside, heck even cozy couch read. It’s not super dramatic on the oomph front (has just enough): its authentic and had just the right amount of humor.Read More »