Currently Reading: Valencia and Valentine by Suzy Krause

“The same way you’d get wrinkles on your face from making the same facial expression over and over, she thought, you could probably get wrinkles on your brain from thinking the same thoughts and feeling the same feelings over and over.” – Suzy Krause, Valencia and Valentine

Published: June 1, 2019 by Lake Union Publishing
Category: Contemporary

I just hit the 50% mark of Suzy Krause’s debut novel – Valentine and Valencia – and have a theory on how Valencia and Mrs. Valentine’s lives may intersect: I can’t wait to see if I am right!!!!

This is what I love about reading: that excitement to see how the book will actually wrap up in the end. Hopefully I can get to that within the next few days. I’ve been limited on reading time and trying to sneak in a chapter here and there when I can. Can anyone else relate?!

The book was being promoted For readers of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, debut author Suzy Krause delivers a quirky, colorful story about love, loss, second chances, and what it means to truly live,” and I LOVED Eleanor Oliphant, so I knew I had to read this.

Goodreads Synopsis: 3.57 average rating
Valencia, a timid debt collector with crippling OCD, is afraid of many things, but the two that scare her most are flying and turning thirty-five. To confront those fears, Valencia’s therapist suggests that she fly somewhere–anywhere–before her upcoming birthday. And as Valencia begins a telephone romance with a man from New York, she suddenly has a destination in mind. There’s only one problem–he might not actually exist.
.
Mrs. Valentine is an eccentric old woman desperate for company, be it from neighbors, telemarketers, or even the funeral director (when you’re her age, you go to a lot of funerals). So she’s thrilled when the new cleaning girl provides a listening ear for her life’s story–a tale of storybook love and incredible adventures around the world with her husband before his mysterious and sudden disappearance.
.
The stories of Valencia and Mrs. Valentine may at first appear to have nothing in common…but then again, nothing in life is as straightforward as it seems.

Are we connected on Goodreads?! Hit me up so you can read my full review of this book when I am done!

GIVEAWAY ALERT! Check out my instagram stories for a flash giveaway of Valencia and Valentine. Stories only last 24 hours, so it will move quick!

I received an advanced readers copy of this book as part of my participation in a blog tour with TLC Book Tours. The gifting of this book did not affect my opinion of it.

add-to-goodreads-button31

Purchase Links:
Barnes & Noble
Indigo
Amazon UK

You may also find me here:
twitter-icon app-icon2  2787175_orig circle-64 facebook-icon-preview-1

Please note: this post contains Indigo, and Amazon affiliate links. If you purchase this book through the links above I will earn a small fee; at no additional cost to you. This will help me purchase more books to read and recommend to you all!

11 thoughts on “Currently Reading: Valencia and Valentine by Suzy Krause

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s