Book Review: 25 Days ‘Til Christmas by Poppy Alexander

capture-1-e1544920770459.jpg

3 jingle bells

Published: October 8, 2019 by William Morrow Books
Category: Contemporary, Holiday

25 Day ‘Til Christmas was my first holiday read of the season! This month being dedicated to as many holiday reads as I can power through before year end. Consider Saturday Nite Reader your one stop shop for holiday reads this year ๐Ÿ˜‰

What does my holiday TBR look like you ask:

View this post on Instagram

#partner thank you to the tagged publishers for gifting me my 2019 holiday reads! Who wouldnโ€™t want books, @tonymoly.us_official beauty products, and cowboys under their tree? . A special thank you to @avonbooks & @williammorrowbooks for sending me: ๐ŸŽ„We Met in December by @rosiecurtisauthor ๐ŸŽ„25 Days โ€˜Till Christmas by Poppy Alexander (which Iโ€™ll be reading first!) ๐ŸŽ„Wrapped Up In You by @jillshalvis ๐ŸŽ„ The Christmas Dare by @loriwilde02 along with a K-beauty mask and hand cream set from TONYMOLY. . The kind folks at @berkleyromance sent me: โ›„๏ธ A Cowboy Under the Mistletoe by @jessicaclarebooks โ›„๏ธ The Christmas Keeper by @mckinlayjenn โ›„๏ธ A Mackenzie Clan Christmas by Jennifer Ashley . The lovely folks at @readforeverpub sent me: ๐ŸŽ… The Corner of Holly and Ivy by @authordebmason ๐ŸŽ… Christmas on Mistletoe Lane by @annierainsbooks . โค๏ธ๐Ÿ’š @randomhouse & @biblioreviews always having my back! Thank you RH for Let it Snow by @nancythayerbooks (one of the first holiday books I got!) and Theresa for sending me A Coldwater Christmas by @deloresfossen (she knew a cowboy on a book cover was on my Santa list!) ๐Ÿ’šโค๏ธ . โ“What are you reading to celebrate the holiday season?! Do tell! See any you are reading too? . . #saturdaynitereader #itsdecember #holidayseason #holidaybookstack #christmasreadinglist #holidayTBR #TBR #toberead #readersofinstagram #readersofinsta #bookstagram #booksofinstagram #bookstagrammer #bookblogger #bookreviewer #bibliophile #bookworm #jinglebooks #bookphotography #booklover #bookish #readforever #genxbookstagrammers #booksparks #ruggable

A post shared by Saturday Nite Reader (@saturday_nite_reader) on

Okay, now back to the book review you have all been anxiously awaiting…

For fans of A Christmas Carol and It’s a Wonderful Life. I whipped through this book in a day. It is not a cheery, sugar cookie read. Itโ€™s more in line with It’s a Wonderful Life, where you watch and hope for goodness to come back to Kate, and come fast.

Young widow Kate cannot catch a break, whether its working for a terrible company, dealing with the mean moms at her sonโ€™s school, dealing with the school admin who make her son feel less than welcome, and missing her husband terribly during a time of year she used to love the most. Daniel is grieving the loss of his sister and the thought of Kate – whom he has yearned from a far – brings him joy when most things do not. Will these lonely souls bring back the holiday spirit for each other?

It counts down until Christmas, but the holiday is not really the focal point. Itโ€™s more about the challenges and setbacks Kate keeps experiencing while trying to keep Christmas – and life in general – merry for her son, Jack. It would be a Lifetime movie versus Hallmark.

I have to say that I adore the book cover illustrated by Nathan Burton!

Do you have any holiday reads on your TBR this month? Have you read this one?! Do tell!

Thank you to William Morrow for the free book in exchange for my honest review

add-to-goodreads-button31

Purchase Links:
Barnes & Noble
Indigo

You may also find me here:
twitter-icon app-icon2ย  2787175_origย circle-64ย facebook-icon-preview-1

Please note: this post contains B&N & Indigo affiliate links. If you purchase this book through the links above I will earn a small fee; at no additional cost to you. This will help me purchase more books to read and recommend to you all!

25 Days 'Til Christmas: A Novel Poppy Alexander Author

13 thoughts on “Book Review: 25 Days ‘Til Christmas by Poppy Alexander

  1. I seemed to have lost my mojo and need to find it, I was reading holiday stories early and now can’t seem to pick one up. Candy cane therapy seems to be needed ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s